Study Abroad Cost,

Stage by Stage

Cost of Studying in Poland in 2026: What the Student Visa and Settling In Really Add Up To

A Polish national visa now costs EUR 200, and you prove your money twice. This guide adds up the cost of studying in Poland, from admission to arrival, and shows how much of the total is genuinely lost to charges.

Since 1 January 2026, a Polish national visa costs EUR 200 at consulates, up from EUR 135 in June 2024. Some guides to the cost of studying in Poland still print a much lower number, and one EU immigration portal page still lists EUR 80. The visa fee is only one change that makes older advice risky. Poland now limits foreign students to 50 percent of each university’s total student body, asks for proof of B2 level in the course language, and since 27 April 2026 takes residence permit applications online only.

The guide is built around four stages of the Poland student visa process. First you pick a course, then you win a place at a university, then you get the national visa, and last you land and collect your residence card. Money is in Polish zloty (PLN), the local currency, and euro prices are converted at the National Bank of Poland rate of 4.3789 on 8 October 2026.

Poland has one odd feature that most guides skip. You prove your money twice, first to the consulate and then to the permit office, so we cost both. After the three cost tables you will find the full total, a split between real charges and money you keep, housing prices, tuition by level, and short answers.

Rules and fees move, sometimes in the middle of a recruiting season. Check each figure with the Polish consulate that will take your file, and with the Office for Foreigners guidance on the online portal, before you pay anything. Where we could not settle a figure from an official page, the text says so.

Most official Polish pages exist only in Polish, so the source list at the end marks each language, and a browser can translate them for you.

The Cost of Studying in Poland Calculator

This calculator builds in every cost of studying in Poland, from the visa fee and tuition to flights and setup. Choose your course, enter your rent, and pick a low, middle or high estimate. You get one total, split into tuition, funds that stay yours, your deposit, and costs you never get back. Tick the boxes that fit you, then use the Summary and Phase tabs.

The figures come from official sources, last checked in October 2026. Fees change. This is a budgeting tool, not immigration or legal advice. Confirm your fees with your university and on the official pages under “Where the numbers come from” on the Summary tab.

Your situation

Leave blank to use PLN 600 to 1,500. Warsaw halls cost PLN 600 to 1,000 and private rooms PLN 1,000 to 1,500.
Leave blank to use PLN 1,200 to 4,500.
You get it back when you leave. The month options need your rent above. The law caps a deposit at 12 times the rent.
NAWA asks for translations unless a paper is already in English, Russian, Ukrainian or Belarusian. Visa centres and police certificates depend on your post, so check its list.
Costs you cannot choose, such as translations and setup
Each uses the low, middle or high figure from the cost ranges in the article.
Show costs in your own currency
Optional. Type today’s rate from your bank and every figure gains a second line in your currency.

Estimated cost for your first year

PLN 0

    What changed since 2025

    Seven changes affect your costs or your plans.

    Step 1: Choose a course with your next move in mind

    Poland links your chances after graduation to how you study and where you study, and far less to how long the course lasts. A three year bachelor’s and a six year long cycle degree lead to the same single permit. What matters is whether you study full time, at an approved university, and whether you plan your whole path before you start.

    Post study work rights by level of study

    A graduate of a Polish university can apply once for a 9 month residence permit to look for work or start a business. It cannot be extended and it cannot be repeated. The permit alone does not give you a job, but full time graduates may work without a work permit, while part time graduates need one.

    What you finish in PolandWhat you get afterwards
    Bachelor’s degree, full timeOne 9 month permit that lets you look for work or start a business, with free access to jobs
    Master’s degree, full timeThe same single 9 month permit, with free access to jobs
    Master’s degree, part timeUnclear. The official page says full time for this level, so ask the office before you enrol
    Postgraduate courseThe same 9 month permit
    Doctoral schoolThe same 9 month permit after you finish
    Polish language or preparatory year onlyNo degree title, so in our reading no graduate permit

    Doctoral candidates get faster visa handling and a first permit of 2 years and 6 months. For everyone, nine months after graduation is short, so begin the search in your last semester. If you find a job during the permit, you can ask to switch to a residence and work permit, which adds PLN 100 in stamp duty. A full time graduate of a Polish university skips the usual labour market test, but the employer must sign an annex.

    The official pages we read state no age limit and no list of approved fields of study for this permit. We looked for both and found neither.

    Small rules that cause big problems

    Most problems start with small rules nobody mentions at a recruitment fair. Read these before you pay a tuition instalment.

    Can you stack courses?

    Poland does not add permit lengths together the way some countries do. You can move from a bachelor’s to a master’s by extending your student permit, as long as you keep studying at an approved university, and later permits last 15 months or the academic year plus three months. Because the graduate permit can be granted only once, keep it for the end of your last course. Half of your student years count toward the five years that other applicants need for long term residence, though students themselves cannot apply for the EU long term permit.

    Step 2: Get a place at a Polish university

    Apply to the university before you think about the visa, because the paper it gives you is the main one in your file, and since 2025 it checks far more before it says yes.

    Make sure the university may take you

    A university must either appear on the Interior Ministry list or fall into an exempt group. The Ministry publishes four downloadable lists, one of them for study units. Exempt groups are public academic universities, military universities, state service universities, church run universities covered by a treaty or statute, and research institutes. The Poznan office says that if your school is on neither list, or has been banned, a study permit will be refused. A branch campus is not listed separately. An explanation from a government department, which is not a legal text, says it shares the approval of the parent university.

    We found no national cap on student visas, and no cap on fee discounts. The only numerical cap is the 50 percent share per university.

    New entry checks

    The 2025 law added three checks. For a bachelor’s or a long cycle master’s, the visa can be issued only if you hold a written statement from the NAWA director confirming your right to apply, unless your certificate comes from an exempt system. A university may also add an entrance exam. For a master’s, you need your diploma plus the NAWA statement when the diploma does not already give access to second cycle study.

    NAWA issues the statement free of charge through its online system, and gives no fixed waiting time. You upload scans of your certificate, transcript and passport, with certified translations unless a paper is in English, Russian, Ukrainian or Belarusian. NAWA says certificates from EU, OECD and EFTA states, from IB and European Baccalaureate programmes, and from countries with a recognition treaty (the page names China and Ukraine) need no statement. The Ministry of Science notice words the exemption more narrowly, so confirm with your university whether a treaty country certificate still needs the NAWA paper.

    Language is the second check. You must show B2 in the language of instruction. For English, the regulation accepts IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 72, PTE Academic 59, or a Cambridge B2 certificate. For Polish, it accepts a state certificate, a telc or ECL certificate, or a preparatory course of at least nine months. The B2 rule is the same at every level. The consulate asks for the certificate and the NAWA paper mainly from first year bachelor’s and long cycle students, and even with a certificate the consul may test whether your language is good enough.

    The third check is the university’s own. Schools must verify candidates, including by interview, and tell the consulate if an admitted student never starts.

    Documents, application fees and deadlines

    Each university runs its own online system. At SGH, for instance, you register, upload papers, accept the offer, wait for the rector’s decision, pay tuition, and hand in originals after you arrive. Its 2026 main round for full time English programmes was open from 23 June to 23 July. Expect to upload your school certificate or diploma, transcripts, a passport copy and a language certificate. The consular checklist adds that earlier diplomas need to be legalised or have an apostille, so start that early.

    Application fees are small but add up across several schools. They are in the Phase 1 table. What matters more is how tuition is collected. The University of Wroclaw says candidates must pay the first year in advance. Jagiellonian University asks for the first instalment within seven days of enrolment, and gives no fee reductions or exemptions in the first year of English programmes. NAWA scholarship holders are exempt from fees for English studies.

    Your offer, your payment and the paper the consul reads

    The key paper is an original certificate from the university, in the format set by a ministerial regulation of 23 September 2019, confirming that you are admitted. Next to it the consul wants proof that tuition is paid, or a university statement if the course is free. Ask how early you may pay. SGH lets you pay early for visa purposes if you request bank details.

    Check the refund terms before you transfer anything. Medical University of Warsaw takes a EUR 1,000 confirmation fee for dentistry that is half refunded if you withdraw in writing before 15 July 2026, and it accepts only euro bank transfers, with the candidate paying every bank and conversion charge. Allow up to five days for it to confirm payment. We could not find any rule on what happens to tuition if the consulate refuses your visa, so ask each school to put its answer in writing.

    Phase 1 costs: admission

    ItemTypical cost in PLNIn your local currencyWhy it is on this list
    English or Polish exam fee, one sittingPLN 800 to 1,700Schools want proof of B2 level in the course language, and IELTS 5.5 or TOEFL iBT 72 is enough. The price is a planning figure, because each test centre sets its own
    Application fees for up to three universitiesPLN 85 to 354Every university charges its own application fee: PLN 85 or 100 at SGH and EUR 23 or 27 at the University of Wroclaw, about PLN 101 to 118
    NAWA recognition statementPLN 0NAWA issues the recognition statement free of charge, so only the translations around it cost money
    Certified translations of certificatesPLN 150 to 700NAWA asks for certified translations unless a paper is already in English, Russian, Ukrainian or Belarusian. The range is our own guess
    Apostille or legalisation, and certified copiesPLN 50 to 450Some posts ask for diplomas to be legalised or apostilled, and your home country sets the price. Planning figure of ours
    Posting records and originalsPLN 100 to 400Old schools can be slow and may charge to post records. Planning figure of ours
    Confirmation payment toward tuitionPLN 0 hereNothing extra here, because the money counts inside first year tuition in Phase 2. One example is EUR 1,000 for dentistry in Warsaw, half of it refundable before 15 July 2026
    Phase 1 subtotalPLN 1,185 to 3,604Sum of every row in this table

    Step 3: Get the Polish national visa for study

    Poland uses two permissions, a national visa to enter and a residence permit inside the country, and each has its own fee and its own money test. Many guides cover only the visa. That is why the real cost of studying in Poland is higher than the first page of a consulate site suggests.

    How the two stages fit together

    The national visa, type D, lasts up to one year. You use it to enter and to start your course. Soon after you arrive you apply for a temporary residence permit, and that gives you a residence card. Our sources differ on that first permit. A technical university guide says it covers the length of your studies plus three months, up to three years, while the EU immigration portal still describes 15 months. Ask your university which applies.

    Where and how to apply

    You apply at a Polish consulate or at a visa centre it uses. The form is completed online, printed and signed, and your passport stays with the consulate while it works on the file. Some posts take the fee in cash at the counter, as the Georgia page explains, while others route payment through a centre such as VFS in India. Each post publishes its own checklist, and they differ, so work from the list of the post that will take your file, not from a general guide. Be careful with intermediaries. The Polish embassy in Amman states that an intermediary gives no preferential treatment and does not guarantee approval.

    Papers to collect for the visa file

    The India and Turkey checklists show the pattern. Expect to need:

    Documents must be in Polish or English, and some posts want an original and a copy of each. The India checklist gives you 14 days after filing to add missing papers.

    Proof of funds for the Poland student visa: what you must show and when

    Most Polish student files stall over money, because different offices quote different numbers. Read this part twice.

    Which number applies. Polish money tests are based on the social assistance income thresholds. Voivodeship offices set the figure for a student at PLN 1,010 a month after housing, and PLN 823 for each family member. Several consular pages still print older figures. The Kazakhstan page lists PLN 701 and 528 and cites a 2018 regulation, while two embassy pages quote a first two months total of PLN 1,086 and PLN 1,270. Your consulate decides what it accepts, but you will meet PLN 1,010 at the permit office a few weeks later, so plan around it.

    How the total is built. The permit office multiplies the monthly figure by your months of stay, then adds return travel of PLN 200, 500 or 2,500 depending on where you come from, your tuition, and your housing costs. Housing costs mean rent and utilities, shown with a signed housing declaration or a dormitory certificate.

    A worked example for a student from outside Europe: 12 months at PLN 1,010 is PLN 12,120. Add PLN 12,000 for a private room at PLN 1,000 a month and PLN 2,500 for the trip home, and you reach PLN 26,620. If tuition of EUR 4,200 (PLN 18,391) is not yet paid, the target becomes PLN 45,011. If you already paid it, you show the receipt instead.

    What counts as evidence. The permit office accepts a certificate of funds from a bank in Poland or the EU issued within the last month, a credit card limit certificate, a scholarship letter, an employment certificate with the salary, or traveller’s cheques. Consulates vary. The India checklist accepts Polish bank certificates but says not from an Indian bank, while the Georgia page asks for a bank statement covering at least three months plus a certificate issued within a month. A NAWA scholarship exempts you from the funds test, but a scholarship that covers only tuition does not.

    Where to keep the money. Because the permit office wants a Polish or EU bank, a home country statement may not be enough at that stage. Plan where the funds will be on the day you apply for the permit, and do not leave it to the last week. Transfers take days, and a certificate older than one month is not accepted.

    Order of documents. A Poznan university lists as a common error a bank certificate issued before the proof of tuition payment. Pay tuition first, then ask the bank for the certificate.

    You prove it twice. The consulate asks for funds when you apply for the visa. The permit office asks again, with fresh certificates and a housing declaration, when you file for the residence permit. Keep money available through both steps, and expect to pay for two sets of bank certificates. If you are weighing Poland against Germany, see how a blocked account answers the same question in the cost of studying in Germany breakdown.

    Mistakes to avoid. Using the old PLN 701 figure. Leaving out housing. Showing tuition and funds in different currencies without a clear conversion. Letting a certificate age past one month. Names that differ between passport, bank and sponsor letter.

    If someone else pays

    A parent or relative can sponsor you, but the paperwork is heavy. The India checklist asks for a sponsor letter covering travel, living and housing, with the sponsor’s bank papers and proof of relationship. A parent’s letter must be notarised, and a third party’s letter must be notarised and legalised or apostilled. Names must match across every document. If your passport lists a parent’s name incompletely, fix it with a legalised birth certificate before you file, since affidavits are not accepted.

    Health insurance: what the state gives and what you must buy

    The student route does not enrol you in the state health fund automatically. The EU profile says non EU students must arrange private insurance or register with NFZ after arrival. At the visa stage you need the private travel policy described above. At the permit stage you need either a contract with the National Health Fund (NFZ) or a private policy covering all medical costs in Poland, valid on the day the permit is granted.

    The NFZ route is cheap for students and rarely explained. Foreign students from outside the EU and EFTA pay on a fixed base of PLN 620, which makes the monthly contribution PLN 55.80, about PLN 670 a year, and they do not pay the penalty fee for gaps. Ordinary voluntary insurance is far dearer, with a minimum of PLN 845.67 a month from July to September 2026, so make sure you register under the student category.

    You submit the application to the regional NFZ branch for your place of residence, with a university certificate of student status valid for 30 days, your passport, your visa or card, and proof of address. After you sign, you file form ZZA with ZUS and pay to a ZUS account. Students cannot add family members to this cover.

    Coverage starts on the date set in the contract, not before you apply, so keep your travel policy until the NFZ cover is active.

    Is paid work allowed for students?

    Yes, if you study full time. Full time students at approved universities may work without a work permit, as may students doing a required internship. Part time students may not. The EU portal adds that your card shows an access to the labour market annotation. The official pages we read state no weekly hours cap, so ask your university before you rely on a full week of work.

    Do not count future pay in your funds. Officers want to see money that exists before you travel, and the permit office asks again after you arrive.

    Submit and wait

    Embassy pages give a usual decision time of 15 days, which can rise to 30, and the same page says student visas may take up to 60 days. The India centre says usually 15 calendar days and sometimes 45. The India checklist warns that filing less than 60 days before travel is at your own risk. We found no official peak season figure. Our reading is that August and September are crowded, because many university rounds only close in July. SGH’s main round for full time English programmes, for example, was open until 23 July, so file the day your admission certificate arrives.

    If a consul refuses the visa, you can ask for reconsideration, and that request costs EUR 200 again. The first fee is not returned.

    Phase 2 costs: student visa

    ItemTypical cost in PLNIn your local currencyCategoryWhy it is on this list
    National visa feePLN 876StandardEUR 200 since 1 January 2026, converted at the NBP rate of 4.3789 on 8 October 2026. It was EUR 135 from June 2024, and a consulate keeps the fee even when the visa is refused
    Visa centre service fee, where usedPLN 0 to 250Often missedWhere an outside centre takes your file it adds its own charge, such as INR 1,026 in India. Our range covers other countries
    Tuition for year one at a public universityPLN 9,634 to 27,149StandardThe consulate asks for proof that tuition is paid. Fees start at EUR 2,200 for English Studies in Warsaw and reach EUR 6,200 for a finance master at SGH. Medicine costs far more, see the tuition table
    Living funds to show, 12 monthsPLN 12,120StandardTwelve months at PLN 1,010 a month. This money stays yours, and you use it for your daily costs
    Housing funds to show, 12 monthsPLN 7,200 to 18,000StandardThe permit office counts housing on top of the monthly figure, and the University of Warsaw lists PLN 600 to 1,000 for a hall room and PLN 1,000 to 1,500 for a private room
    Return travel funds to showPLN 2,500StandardPLN 2,500 for the trip home when you come from outside Poland’s neighbours and the EU. You keep it
    Passport, new or renewedPLN 0 to 700Often missedThe passport must be under 10 years old with two blank pages, so many students must renew. Price depends on your country
    Photos, printing and copiesPLN 30 to 100Often missedOne 35 by 45 millimetre photo from the last six months, plus a copy of every paper. Planning figure of ours
    Travel medical insurance, EUR 30,000 coverPLN 300 to 1,500StandardAt least EUR 30,000 of cover for the whole stay, including repatriation. Planning figure of ours for one year
    Bank certificate and statementsPLN 0 to 150Often missedA bank certificate must be issued within one month of filing, so a delay can force you to buy a new one
    Bank transfer fees and currency marginPLN 150 to 1,000Often missedWarsaw’s medical university makes the candidate pay all bank charges and conversion costs, and your own bank adds a margin
    Police certificate, where the post asksPLN 0 to 250Often missedSome posts ask for a criminal record certificate and others do not. Check your post’s list
    Consulate legalisation or certified copiesPLN 0 to 525Often missedCertifying a copy or legalising a paper at a Polish consulate costs EUR 40 each, about PLN 175
    Travel to the consulate or visa centrePLN 0 to 1,200Often missedSome countries have only one or two application points. Planning figure of ours
    Phase 2 subtotalPLN 32,810 to 66,320Sum of every row in this table

    Step 4: Land, register and collect your card

    Your visa lets you travel, but the border officer still decides whether to admit you, which is why your key papers stay on you and not in a checked bag. A chain of tasks then begins on the day you land.

    Papers for the border officer

    Keep these in your hand luggage:

    • Your passport with the national visa.
    • The university admission certificate and proof of tuition payment.
    • Proof of funds. Polish embassy pages quote PLN 1,086 and PLN 1,270 for the first two months, plus return travel money, so have well above both with you.
    • Your travel medical policy.
    • Your housing proof, such as the lease or dormitory decision.
    • Your return or onward ticket reservation.

    The deadlines that start when you land

    The first weeks follow a fixed order, because each step needs the one before it.

    1. Address registration. Stays over 14 days must be registered. Written registration applies once you stay beyond 30 days, and the office wants your lease, passport and visa or card.
    2. PESEL. A foreigner who stays over 30 days can get a PESEL free of charge when registering a temporary address.
    3. Online identity. The portal asks you to log in through the government login service and sign with a Trusted Profile, a qualified signature or a personal e signature. The official graduate permit page lists a PESEL and a Trusted Profile as the first requirements for filing, which is why, in our reading, steps one and two come first.
    4. University signature. You enter the university’s email, and the school fills and signs its part online. Without it, you cannot submit.
    5. The permit application. File through the portal before your legal stay ends. The portal advises you not to wait for the last day, because gathering documents takes time. Paper applications that did not reach the offices before 27 April 2026 were left without consideration.
    6. After you submit. Once an official approves the file, you can print a certificate that replaces the passport stamp. You may then be called for fingerprints. The law gives the office 60 days, and the period starts only when your file is complete. The card is collected in person, usually two to four weeks after approval.

    Your file needs more than the form. A Poznan university lists the fee proof, insurance, funds documents, a housing declaration and the university letter. The stamp duty is PLN 340 and the card is PLN 50 or 100, as the Phase 3 table shows.

    Housing in Poland: halls, rooms and deposits

    Housing is the biggest controllable cost after tuition, and in Poland it is also the first step in your paperwork chain, because registration usually needs a lease. Halls are cheaper but places are limited. The University of Warsaw, for example, has 2,722 places in seven halls.

    OptionMonthly price in PLNWhat to know
    University of Wroclaw hall, place in a double roomPLN 720 to 870Prices from 1 October 2026 to 30 June 2027
    University of Wroclaw hall, single roomPLN 1,110 to 1,500Same price list
    Jagiellonian medical college hall, standard double bedPLN 805Up from PLN 740 before 1 October 2026
    Jagiellonian medical college hall, single roomPLN 1,680Up from PLN 1,530 on the same list
    University of Warsaw halls, any room typePLN 520 to 1,100EUR 120 to 260 across seven halls, converted by the university page
    Private room in a shared flat, WarsawPLN 1,000 to 1,500Figure on the university cost page, updated June 2026
    Private flat for one, WarsawUp to PLN 2,500 to 3,000Same page

    Official living cost estimates differ a lot. The EU’s Poland profile gives EUR 330 to 430 a month for rent, food and transport, which is PLN 1,445 to 1,883, while a NAWA guide from 2023 says costs start at about EUR 600. The permit minimum of PLN 1,010 plus a hall or room at PLN 600 to 1,500 comes to PLN 1,610 to 2,510 a month. That is above the EU range and a little below the NAWA starting figure of PLN 2,627, so we plan on the permit minimum plus rent. Students also get half price travel on Warsaw public transport.

    Deposits. The law caps a deposit at 12 times the monthly rent and says the landlord must return it within a month of you leaving, adjusted to the current rent but never below what you paid. NAWA says landlords often ask for about two months.

    Be careful with occasional leases. Poland has a lease type called an occasional lease. It requires a notarial declaration that you will leave on demand, plus the name of another address with the owner’s written consent. In our view a new arrival rarely has such an address. Ask whether the lease is ordinary or occasional before you sign. Its deposit is capped at six times the rent.

    Register before you pay. Ask whether the landlord will let you register your address. If not, your PESEL, your Trusted Profile and your permit file are all held up. This is our reading of how the steps link, and it is a good reason to prefer a landlord who agrees in writing.

    Utilities. The permit office counts rent and utilities, meaning energy, gas, water, sewage and waste, as housing costs. Ask whether the advertised rent includes them. Never send a deposit for a place you have not seen.

    Phase 3 costs: arrival and setup

    ItemTypical cost in PLNIn your local currencyCategoryWhy it is on this list
    Single airfare to PolandPLN 1,200 to 4,500StandardPlanning figure of ours. The price depends on your region and on how close to the October start you book
    Temporary stay, first one to two weeksPLN 500 to 2,200StandardPlanning figure of ours for a hostel or short rental while you view rooms. Halls are limited, with 2,722 places across seven dormitories at Warsaw
    Landlord deposit, refundablePLN 500 to 3,000Often missedThe law caps a deposit at 12 times the monthly rent, which few landlords reach. We assume one to two months, close to the two months NAWA reports
    First month of rentPLN 0 hereOften missedAlready inside the housing funds in Phase 2, so we do not count it twice
    Residence permit stamp dutyPLN 340Often missedPLN 340 stamp duty for a study permit. The portal quotes PLN 340 to 640 depending on permit type
    Residence cardPLN 50 to 100Often missedStudents pay a reduced PLN 50 for the card, though the portal quotes PLN 100. Confirm which applies to you
    Photo, scans and Polish translations for the permit filePLN 100 to 500Often missedForeign papers need an official Polish translation, and the portal wants a digital photo plus scans of every passport page
    Health insurance for year onePLN 670 to 2,400StandardNFZ charges foreign students PLN 55.80 a month, about PLN 670 a year. A private policy costs more, and that range is ours
    Basic home setup and a first supermarket tripPLN 500 to 2,000Often missedPlanning figure of ours, because many rooms come with little more than a bed
    Cold weather clothesPLN 400 to 1,500Often missedPlanning figure of ours for a heavy coat, boots and warm layers, which matter more than most newcomers expect
    SIM card and first month of travel passPLN 80 to 250Often missedPlanning figure of ours for month one, and students pay half fare on Warsaw public transport
    Course materials and university extrasPLN 200 to 1,000Often missedPlanning figure of ours, and some programmes cost more
    Contents and liability insurance, optionalPLN 0 to 250Often missedOptional. Planning figure of ours for contents and liability cover
    PESEL and address registrationPLN 0StandardPESEL is free, and the Warsaw registration page lists no fee
    Phase 3 subtotalPLN 4,540 to 18,040Sum of every row in this table

    Putting the three phases together: the real cost of studying in Poland

    The table below adds the three phases for one student, single, studying one year at a public university with an English taught degree.

    PhaseEstimated cost in PLNEstimated total in your local currency
    Phase 1, admissionPLN 1,185 to 3,604
    Phase 2, student visaPLN 32,810 to 66,320
    Phase 3, arrival and setupPLN 4,540 to 18,040
    TotalPLN 38,535 to 87,964

    Bar chart of the cost of studying in Poland for one year in PLN, split into admission, student visa, and arrival and setup, with each low to high range labelled

    That total of PLN 38,535 to 87,964 includes three kinds of money, so split them before you judge the real cost of studying in Poland.

    Money that stays yours. The living funds, housing funds and return travel money total PLN 21,820 to 32,620. You spend living and rent money during the year, but none of it is a charge. If you remove it, the total falls to about PLN 16,715 to 55,344.

    Tuition. First year tuition of PLN 9,634 to 27,149 pays for your qualification, not for a fee. Remove it too and PLN 7,081 to 28,195 is left.

    Money you get back. The landlord should return the rent deposit of PLN 500 to 3,000 when you leave. Take that out as well and the sum genuinely lost to charges is PLN 6,581 to 25,195. That covers the visa fee, tests, translations, insurance, residence permit duties, flights and setup.

    The high end adds every high estimate together, which rarely happens. Most students end up nearer the middle.

    What is not in this total. One year only. Longer courses add tuition, rent, NFZ contributions and, for later years, a permit extension with new stamp duty. The total also leaves out the graduate permit, whose fee the official page does not state (we expect PLN 340, the usual rate for other permits, but confirm it), flights home, and any preparatory language year. Medicine and dentistry cost several times more, as the table below shows.

    Tuition by level and type of university

    Public and private universities set their own fees, which cannot be treated as one national price. The table uses fees we could read on official university pages for 2026/2027. We found no reliable fee table for a private university degree, so we show only the SWPS preparatory year for the private sector.

    Level and typeTypical yearly tuition for a non EU studentNote
    Bachelor’s, English taught, publicEUR 3,800 to 5,000 (PLN 16,640 to 21,895)Wroclaw lists EUR 3,800 to 4,200 for year one and SGH lists EUR 5,000
    Master’s, English taught, publicEUR 3,200 to 6,200 (PLN 14,012 to 27,149)Wroclaw EUR 3,200 to 4,200 and SGH EUR 4,800 to 6,200
    Whole range at one large public universityEUR 1,000 to 5,500 (PLN 4,379 to 24,084) for most programmesWarsaw lists a few outliers at EUR 8,000, 9,000 and 18,000
    Polish taught, full time, publicEUR 4,700 (PLN 20,581) at SGHSGH, undergraduate and graduate. Warsaw University of Technology lists EUR 3,650 to 6,000 for Polish taught courses, but its decision does not say if that is per year
    Psychology, long cycle, WarsawPLN 27,600Listed in zloty for non EU students
    Health and sport degrees, publicEUR 2,860 to 6,860 (PLN 12,524 to 30,039)Academy of Physical Education fee list for 2026/2027
    Medicine, English taughtEUR 16,000 (PLN 70,062)Jagiellonian University, entry year 2026/27
    Dentistry, English taughtEUR 17,000 to 20,900 (PLN 74,441 to 91,519)Jagiellonian EUR 17,000 and Medical University of Warsaw EUR 20,900
    Polish language preparatory year, private universityEUR 2,700 (PLN 11,823)SWPS, 600 hours from 5 October 2026 to 30 June 2027
    Doctoral school, full timeNo tuition, and a scholarshipNAWA guide dated December 2023, so confirm with the school

    Two notes. Full time Polish taught study at public universities is free only for certain groups, such as EU and EEA citizens and holders of Karta Polaka, so most non EU students pay for it as well. And fees often fall after year one, as the Wroclaw table shows, with year two and three about EUR 200 lower.

    Before you pay anything

    • Check the university first. Look for it on the Interior Ministry lists or in an exempt group, and ask whether it is near the 50 percent cap.
    • Get the NAWA statement early. It is free, but waiting time is not stated.
    • Match your language proof to the list. A certificate that meets B2 on the regulation is safer than a school letter.
    • Plan for PLN 1,010 a month, not 701. Then add housing, return travel and tuition.
    • Pay tuition before you ask the bank for a certificate. Order matters.
    • Prove money twice. Keep the funds available for the permit stage.
    • Join NFZ as a student. The student rate is PLN 55.80 a month.
    • Do not sign a lease you cannot register. Your PESEL, Trusted Profile and permit all depend on a registered address.
    • Use the graduate permit last. You get it once, for 9 months.
    • Get every charge in writing, whether it is a deposit, a bank fee or a conversion cost.
    • Set the total beside other countries. Our guides to the cost of studying in France, Italy and Japan use the same three phases, so you can compare the totals side by side.

    Short answers to common money questions

    What should you budget for the cost of studying in Poland?

    For one year, our model puts the cost at PLN 38,535 to 87,964. Of that, PLN 21,820 to 32,620 is your own living, housing and travel money, PLN 9,634 to 27,149 is tuition, and PLN 6,581 to 25,195 goes on fees and setup. The spread comes from tuition, which depends on the course, and from rent, which depends on the city.

    What proof of funds does Poland want from students?

    Plan for PLN 1,010 for each month of stay, plus housing, return travel of up to PLN 2,500, and tuition. Some consulates still print PLN 701, so ask your post which figure it applies, then use the higher one to be safe.

    How much is the visa fee for Poland?

    The national visa fee is EUR 200, about PLN 876, and the consulate keeps it even if it refuses your visa. Some posts add a visa centre fee. We read no student discount on the pages we checked, so confirm that with your consulate.

    Is health insurance required for students in Poland?

    Yes, it is mandatory for all students. You need a travel policy of at least EUR 30,000 for the visa, then either NFZ cover or a private policy for the residence permit. Students outside the EU can join NFZ for PLN 55.80 a month.

    Can students work in Poland?

    Full time students at approved universities can work without a work permit. Part time students cannot. We found no official weekly hours cap, so check with your university.

    What happens after graduation?

    You can apply once for a 9 month permit, which lets you look for work or start a business. Full time graduates may work freely during it, and the permit cannot be repeated or extended.

    Treat this guide as background reading, not as legal or immigration advice. Polish fees, thresholds and procedures change often, and some changed in 2026. Confirm every detail with the Polish consulate that will take your file and on the government’s own pages at gov.pl. As far as we could find, Poland has no licensing scheme or public register for immigration advisers or visa agents, so check the credentials of anyone who offers paid help, and note that the Office for Foreigners warns against dishonest intermediaries.

    For regulated legal help, use a lawyer who is a member of the Polish Bar Council (adwokat) or of the National Chamber of Legal Advisers (radca prawny), which has a public list you can search by surname.

    Table of Contents